A sudden car crash can leave you with injuries, losses, and damages. Wyoming is a fault state. If you know that the other driver was speeding, distracted, or reckless, you can claim compensation for your losses. Insurance companies, including your own, are not willing to be fair. After all, it is all about profits, and settlements are a dent to those objectives. It is important to know the state laws in-depth, and it makes sense to call a personal injury lawyer Wyoming for help. In this post, we are sharing more on key aspects worth knowing.
Table of Contents
Do you need to report the accident?
Yes, absolutely. If the crash resulted in death, injury, or estimated property damage of $1,000 or more, you must report the accident to the local law enforcement or nearest sheriff’s office. Do not run away from the scene or let someone talk you out of calling the police. Wait for the investigating officer to arrive and check if you can get a copy of the police report.
What if you were also responsible for the crash?
Wyoming follows the comparative negligence rule, where a driver cannot claim anything from the other driver if their share of fault is more than 50%. For example, if you were awarded $1,00,000 in settlement and were 10% at fault, you can still get $90,000 in a settlement. Insurance companies often use this rule to deny claims and minimize settlements, which is also one of the key reasons to get an injury lawyer.
What is the statute of limitations in Wyoming?
The statute of limitations allows four years for the victim of a car accident to file a civil lawsuit for property damage and injuries. It is not a lot of time, given that you can lose important evidence if you don’t act right away. If you lost a loved one in a car crash, you could file a wrongful death lawsuit, for which the deadline is two years. Please note that the statute of limitations does not apply to insurance claims. It would be best if you informed your insurer within a reasonable time.
Hiring an attorney in Wyoming
You don’t need any random lawyer but an attorney who specializes in personal injury law. Law firms in Wyoming usually take such accident cases and lawsuits on a contingency fee, so you don’t have to pay an upfront fee. You have more reason to seek legal advice after an accident – call a Wyoming lawyer now!